top of page

Why sheepshead bay - obm

VISIT WEBSITE >>>>> http://gg.gg/y83ws?6838716 <<<<<<






The unnecessary capitalization is wheat made it a bit confusing. I am bit too young to remember the trolleys but in the s as a kid I saw some tracks that remained, especially in areas where the sidewalk was eroded away. What is not mention Frank hammer captain whipy two. I am a Lundy family member he was my Great Grandmothers brother. Lived in the Forest Hills home where the Double Homicide took place and ran around the restaurant as a young child.

Lundy lived in an apartment in the Restaurant. There were many robbery attempts. Britt in my minds eye I remember Lundys and tappens on ocean ave but also Pappas on ocean avenue, is that possible? I was on a Coney Island blog which naturally took me on the amusement parks where I learned in depth about Sealion Park and Paul Boyton.

Eventually learned about his fascinating and amazing life, which was detailed with all his exploits, except that, after he sold Sealion appx , his life seems to be a mystery. This seems impossible, especially since all his exploits were picked up in the papers prior to Have searched many sites and have found very little between and , his death.

I know he passed on from SB. Could that be where he had his residence? What were the circumstances surrounding his death and how did he pass his life from from the SB area? Any info would be greatly appreciated. Thank You.

American park …as a teen I went to Seniors, Jahns, and Martins…. Had an open window to the street. Huge room with tables. Grew up on E 24th street between W and X. Went to PS , then Shellbank, till my parents moved us up to the country when I was Sheepshead Bay brings back many good memories for me..

Could watch them open clams all day. Students of PS 52 were not allowed to walk along this dirt road. We were bussed over to PS 52 not been able to find out what were those remains? So what was there? I lived on Ford street between Voorhies and Shore Parkway from to I just came across these conversations about Sheepshead Bay! I, too grew up there. We moved there in , on Brown St off Ave Z.

I also loved living there. Of course, those were the days when you played outside all of the time and walked everywhere. Great memories!! Lived in co-op at Brigham Street from — Walked to Graham Theater at age five with friends, sans parents. Spent entire day in theater packed with kids.

Father taught me to ride bike in Marine Park. Pinkus principal; Mrs. Selwyn, K teacher. How independent we were in those days. Blue fishing with dad on party boats. Plumb Beach submarine race watching and horseback riding. The parachute jump and steel horses at Steeple Chase best rides ever with the Cyclone.

Nathans the best till one day saw a deep fried roach sticking legs up out of a potato fry seconds before placing it in my mouth. The weight lifters and body builders. Save my name, email, and website in this browser for the next time I comment. This site uses Akismet to reduce spam.

Learn how your comment data is processed. April 1, Brooklyn Sheepshead Bay. Forgotten dairies around town. Lorry Gray January 8, - am Loved the information you shared. Larry Shar November 22, - am Bob, I lived at east 16th street for the first 18 years of my life and also walked to PS until I was shipped off to Sheepshead Bay HS; you must be older than me because by that time I was one block outside of the Lincoln district; devastating because all my pals went to Lincoln.

Rita November 10, - pm Hi Larry……I too graduated February 27, - pm I also lived at E. Julio Cecchetti November 14, - am Why is there no history of the Sheepshead Bay Maritime Training Station which graduated thousands of men, including 16 year old boys, during WW 2 into the US Merchant Marine to sail supply ships for the armed forces? Anonymous October 26, - am My Dad was at that training facility when he was 17 in Carl J.

February 27, - am Raised in the Bay from Age 1 to 21, my family owned the house on E 21st till June 25, - pm The one with the BIG numbers. Have you put up a Bronze plaque with my name on it yet? Best times….. NJ October 19, - am I used to shop at Seymours back in the day. It was down by the station, right? Samantha Zito September 25, - pm My family owned the hickory q: got any pics??? Mary August 21, - pm I grew up at East 19th Street in a big house and then moved to an apartment at East 19 Street.

NJ October 19, - am I grew up at E. Trygve Alger October 25, - am dec 15 missing scallop boat sheepshead bay brooklyn nyc, any info welcome. Anonymous May 26, - pm and the spirit of god hoovers upon the waters and creates repreations of this webmasters photos as was in the beginning ever shall be world without end and the spirit of god hoovers upon the waters and ressurcts the holocaust victims.

Sally June 13, - am Luv this story…always great to hear great stories regarding Sheepshead Bay glad I grew up in the best neighborhood!!!! Val cooper August 26, - pm I too grew up in the best of times of the bay. Anonymous May 14, - pm yes val i agree me too. Cole September 12, - pm Hi Sheepshead Bay residents! Sheepshead Bay is a bay separating the mainland of Brooklyn, New York City from the eastern portion of Coney Island, the latter originally a barrier island but now effectively an extension of the mainland with peninsulas both east the neighborhood of Manhattan Beach and west the neighborhood of Sea Gate.

Its mouth is about a mile 1. The area is part of Brooklyn Community Board The bay itself was originally the easterly entrance to Coney Island Creek but filling of the central part of this waterway during the s in conjunction with construction of the Shore Parkway portion of the Belt Parkway eliminated access to the creek. At the same time the bay was widened at its western end, deepened and bulkheaded. Inside its mouth, a system of sharp front teeth and larger, rear grinding teeth allow sheepshead to crush oyster and clam shells, which are part of its omnivorous diet.

No one seems to know where it got the name sheepshead. Waldman, whose book, Heartbeats in the Muck, traces the history of the New York Harbor, said historical documents indicate that sheepshead were incredibly common in Sheepshead Bay in the early nineteenth century. So plentiful were the fish, farmers surrounding the bay supplemented their incomes by becoming commercial sheepshead fishermen while waiting to harvest their crops. But somewhere around the late s, the sheepshead started to disappear.

Marine biology experts note the disappearance of oyster reefs — either smothered by sewage dumped in the harbor or wiped out by overfishing — around the same time, a connection that is more than coincidental.


Recent Posts

See All

Which karat gold is better - hfa

VISIT WEBSITE >>>>> http://gg.gg/y83ws?8501978 <<<<<< One may see 14k bracelets, earrings, and necklaces as well. Gold jewelry that is...

How should i get taller - zxz

VISIT WEBSITE >>>>> http://gg.gg/y83ws?1329269 <<<<<< It is the fact that good posture does not help you to grow or increase your height...

Sally bercow who is - jfm

VISIT WEBSITE >>>>> http://gg.gg/y83ws?1570302 <<<<<< In the sweet snapshot posted on October 24, the couple can be seen posing...

Comments


bottom of page