top of page

What will a spinal tap diagnosis - qwe

VISIT WEBSITE >>>>> http://gg.gg/y83ws?9270069 <<<<<<






I stayed hydrated at home while laying flat with a long straw coming from my water bottle. I was drinking so much I had to pee all the time and standing up was awful. I had the worse headache of my life. I never want to feel like that again. My monster headache lasted for 5 days. We were snowed in with a ton of snow and couldn't get out.

It was absolute torture. We finally got out and back to the hospital where I had a blood patch done. The headache almost went away instantly after the patch.

I sympathize with anyone who has had those headaches. I probably would have refused. I have read that with MRI and a good radiologist, spinal taps to diagnose MS are not as prevalent as they used to be. But then 10 years later was forced to have one so I could stay on a medication I wanted to stay on.

They were looking for the JVC Vires and it was hell. DR's do things they want to, we need to stand up for ourselves more often. I am 43 and have approx 32 lesions total on both sides of my brain. That along with symptoms he feels confident diagnosing me with MS. Don't have it I had one and wrote a very long thing about it.

Again don't if you don't need to. I hope your Dr is right and you aren't at risk for other issues. The neurologist told me to have someone drive me home afterwards, and to stay flat on my back for 24 hours, to avoid the "low spinal fluid" headache. I followed her instructions, and never got a headache. My father, who was then a retired neurosurgeon, was amazed that I didn't get the headache. He said that his spinal tap patients always got the headache. So apparently lying flat on my back for 24 hours saved me a lot of pain!

Mine was fluoroscopy-guided and the radiology tech explained each step during the procedure. I did get the painful spinal headache afterwards, though, so I wish I had been told to hydrate before the procedure and return to the hospital for a blood patch if needed.

High deductible insurance plans hurt! The technician numb the area and because my lower back is fused had to make the actual puncture a few times before she got into the spinal column.

Which is something we should all consider. I rested for about 45 minutes then was able to get up and get dressed and leave. I had no after affects. Nothing like living in a small town and a small town hospital. As I laid on the hard table waiting for the doctor to start the procedure, my backside was hanging out, techs were breezing in and out of the room that anyone in the hallway could look into.

Good grief! I love watching as procedures are going on in my body. Yeah, I'm weird like that. When the needle was in the right spot the doctor said he was going to tilt the table up to speed up the procedure because the fluid drips like this So they start tilting the table and I feel like I'm going to slide right off the table! The nurse said there's a little lip on the end of the table I can put my toes on to feel more stable.

I asked what was going on, that's when I was told I had to lay flat for 4 hours. That was news to me. My parents had driven me so they were stuck there with me. They never complained. Dad went to forage for food in the cafeteria and mom sat next to the bed reading an article out of a 5-year-old magazine out loud to me. After a few minutes, I pretended I was asleep sorry mom! Of course they found the O-bands and the rest is history, my history anyway. If you are suspected of a neurological disorder find a qualified Neurologist to discuss.

Maybe even still today. I'll explain. Dizziness occasionally, misstepping occasionally, brief headache. Not that but he noted something wrong with my balance. Broken leg hardware?

No that's not it. He recognized my balance issues scheduled me for MRI. Results return he walks in says "you have incurable MS" and walks out. I'm left in the room alone crying. I went home to the internet. He wanted to perform a spinal tap. I laid on my side curled up. He swabbed topical pre-op goo, shot me up to "numb" me, then I'll never forget he said "well here we go".

He inserted the needle some pain but not frightening. He removed cursed "damn nothing gotta do it again". Reinserted and proceeded to cram the needle over and over upward. I felt intense pain from the back of my neck down to back of both knees. His assistant left the room. I was crying loudly and literally begged him to stop. I lay on the table trying to control myself for a couple minutes then thought I didn't want him to come back. I told her what happened on our way to her car.

I believe God will deal with him. He is still in practice wracking up complaints in the community. Nightmares occasionally. Erin Rush Admin. That is terrible! I am so sorry you had to endure that. I know spinal taps are generally not pleasant to begin with, but your experience goes well beyond the sphere of "unpleasant".

I am so glad you have found better neurologists and that you are receiving proper care. Thank you for sharing and I hope you never have to go through anything like that again. Although, I had my first one back in to diagnose my MS, I'm terrified this time around. I don't remember the procedure in , but I do know it went well with no complications or headache! But I'm really nervous now! If you are getting a spinal tap done by the same neurologist, you may have a similar experience to your first.

I don't blame you for being nervous, but as you can probably tell from the comments, much of the procedure and its outcome depend on the skill of the physician. And also, lying completely flat after the procedure does seem to help with the headache issue. And while I don not want to advise you in any fashion, you, as the patient, always have the right to refuse any treatment. I hope your procedure goes well and you experience no issues!

Believe me, I dreaded the first one, a real doozy. It hurt. Over the years I've had five more LPs to include one I did not feel anything, in fact, I was talking to doc wondering when he'd start sticking me but the answer to my question was "I'm finished. LPs are a holdover from the Dark Ages and nothing will change that despite advances in medical technology and technique.

The actual LP takes only a few minutes and it is over. The pain, if any, is momentary and soon gone. Generally speaking you'll only require one LP in your entire lifetime. That too will be soon forgotten. I had mine done under fluoroscopy. The only thing I felt was the lidocaine injection.

Not gonna sugar coat it. BUT the procedure I did not feel at all. I did get the awesome headache on the way home. I ended up sleeping most of the day and today I just have some back pain.

All rights reserved. Always consult your doctor about your medical conditions. Use of the site is conditional upon your acceptance of our terms of use. Skip to content. The Joy of Getting a Spinal Tap. By Devin Garlit October 5, Share to Facebook Share to Twitter email print page Bookmark for later comment 44 Reactions 0 reactions. What is a spinal tap?

Don't hesitate to ask other questions that may come up during your visit. Questions you may want to ask include:. Explore Mayo Clinic studies of tests and procedures to help prevent, detect, treat or manage conditions. Mayo Clinic does not endorse companies or products. Advertising revenue supports our not-for-profit mission. This content does not have an English version. This content does not have an Arabic version. Overview Spinal tap lumbar puncture Open pop-up dialog box Close. Spinal tap lumbar puncture During a spinal tap lumbar puncture procedure, you typically lie on your side with your knees drawn up to your chest.

Request an Appointment at Mayo Clinic. Share on: Facebook Twitter. Show references Lumbar puncture. Radiological Society of North America. Accessed Feb. CSF analysis. Lab Tests Online. Johnson KS, et al. Lumbar puncture: Technique, indications, contraindications, and complications in adults. Pfenninger JL, et al. Lumbar puncture. Philadelphia, Pa. Fastle RK, et al. Open Trials Closed Trials. Neuromuscular Program Meet a team of experts who focus on you and your condition.

Clinical Trials. MyHealth Login. Financial Assistance. Medical Records. Contact Us. Video Visits. Get a Second Opinion. Healthcare Professionals. Referring Physicians. Allied Healthcare.

About Us. Make a Donation. Stanford Health Care Now.


Recent Posts

See All

Which karat gold is better - hfa

VISIT WEBSITE >>>>> http://gg.gg/y83ws?8501978 <<<<<< One may see 14k bracelets, earrings, and necklaces as well. Gold jewelry that is...

How should i get taller - zxz

VISIT WEBSITE >>>>> http://gg.gg/y83ws?1329269 <<<<<< It is the fact that good posture does not help you to grow or increase your height...

Sally bercow who is - jfm

VISIT WEBSITE >>>>> http://gg.gg/y83ws?1570302 <<<<<< In the sweet snapshot posted on October 24, the couple can be seen posing...

Comments


bottom of page