top of page

Is it possible to live in france and work in geneva - ivn

VISIT WEBSITE >>>>> http://gg.gg/y83ws?9823668 <<<<<<






Thanks So if I move to Switzerland initially and pay for Swiss health insurance via salary - and later move to France - would the Swiss health insurance cover me in France?

If not what would my options be? So if I move to Switzerland initially and pay for Swiss health insurance via salary - and later move to France - would the Swiss health insurance cover me in France? So if I move to Switzerland initially and pay for Swiss health insurance via salary -. This user would like to thank st2lemans for this useful post: fatmanfilms.

Ok thanks. Think I,ve almost got it. So working in Geneva I will only be taxed in Switzerland Within 3 months of moving to Switzerland it is compulsory to get health insurance. Is this correct? I don't know if I am making this more complex than it is. Within 3 months of moving to Switzerland it is compulsory to get health insurance Not sure if this is different in Geneva but this is not the case for us. My wife and I live in France and she works in Switzerland Basel. She pays French income tax, only social security in Switzerland pension, unemployment benefit etc.

Yes this confused me to. I am pretty sure cross-border commuters pay taxes in the country they LIVE not in the one they work. In the country they work, they only pay social contributions. I'd be very surprised if this were different in Geneva vs Basel, I see no reason why it would be. Geneva is definitely one of the swiss cantons where you pay income tax to the country you EARN rather than live I think there are a couple of others but can't remember which ones offhand.

This user would like to thank st2lemans for this useful post: Anjela. Posting Rules You may not post new threads. BB code is On. Smilies are On. Trackbacks are Off. Pingbacks are Off. Refbacks are Off. Forum Rules. The time now is EU citizen living in France working in Geneva. He won't get a permit working at a bar. Even if they need English. Third country nationals need to be specialized in order to get permit approval. Hi Mia, thank you very much for the info.

Very useful. Some additional questions so that I better understand things:. If we live in Switzerland, would he still need to go through the process of proving there are no others to do the job, or would he be treated as anyone in Switzerland, making it easier for him to be hired he is a hotel manager. As I would be working with the UN, does that not provide any special benefits to allowing my husband to work in Switzerland?

Also, just to be clear, as I would be working with the UN in Geneva, does that not automatically allow him to work freely in Switzerland? So, he could have a Swiss work permit and be a frontalier living in France?

Actually, I am going to give you one link. It's the law on foreigners in French which mostly talks about Switzerland though there a bit on Frontalier. My understanding is your husband would not be considered a " ressortissant" himself, I interpet it as him having to go through the hoops.

But your French is surely much better than mine. And perhaps you should check with the commune of Geneva who would issue the permit anyway. Some employers may prefer to hire a Swiss citizen, others may be open-minded. Either way, it rests with the applicant to sell his qualifications and experience as best he can. Jennifer: Not only do employerd need to prove that there is no Swiss national to employ a non-EU citizen, they also need to prove that there is no EU citizen who can do the job. I believe your best solution would be to live in CH for a few months until your spouse finds employment.

If your husband acquires French citizenship, he can work in Geneva without any issue. However, to acquire French nationality, you need to be married for over 4 years, if you resided in France for 3 years or more - else, its 5 years of married life. There are a few other conditions, such as fluency in the French language and integration into French society, which are detailed on the link below:.

Or buy an appartment in France just for holiday? Where I can find the info from the official website? I moved here in February with my family and we would like to explore the possibility of moving to neaby France at the beginning of while I continue to work in Geneva for WHO. We are currently using a carte de ligitimation Category D. Has anyone with a similar status succesffuly done this before, and what were your experiences with the process? Hi Moise.

Welcome to Geneva and to the WHO. Second, the answer is very simple: as an employee in the UN system, you hold a carte de legitimation, and member countries, which France is, will grant you some privileges. If you move to France, go to the Mairie in the town you decide to reside, show them your carte de legitimation, proof of address in the town and request a carte de sejour, which will be granted to you and your family members.

France taxes anyone who resides in the country, regardless of their citizenship or place of employment. But it waives income taxes to UN employees, as does Switzerland.

The only privilege you will lose by moving from Geneva to France is that your spouse can work in Switzerland as you both hold cartes de legitimation. But if you move to France, she may not be able to work in Switzerland. She will have to get a frontalier permit through her employer, but that should be easy. Finally, don't bother reading the advice given in this thread over the last 4 years.

It may be well intended but much of it is uninformed, misleading at best and plain wrong at worst. I just don't understand why people don't do that first. The staff at HR are very knowledgeable, experienced and are in the business of facilitating the life of WHO's human resources, of which you are one.

Not only do they know the current local rules and regulations in permit matters, they can also advise on, for example, local schooling facilities or health care. Of course I have been to HR before and expressed my desire to move across the border. The advice I got - and I guess, as you rightly put it, it is often based on experience and knowledge - was that it is better to stay in Switzerland as some important privileges fall away once one moves across, which is a given.

Perhaps I sholud have been a bit more forceful for information. JR, your advice seems to imply that it is okay to find accommodation in and move to france and look for carte de sejour after the fact. Is my interpretation correct? Ritchie, health care and school options for the kids are two most important factors that will drive our final decision. So far we are well covered for the former but still exploring the latter. Well, you need to find a place first, since that will determine which Mairie Ferney, Ornex, Prevessin, St.

Genis, etc you will go to to request your carte de Sejour. If you feel better, you may find a place, but before you sing a contract to rent it or buy it, go to the Mairie of that town. They will probably ask you to come back when you have a rental or sale contract or another proof of residence, such as utlilites bill, but if you show them you carte de legitimation, they will understand and reassure you.

You should go back to HR at the WHO and ask what specific privileges they were refering to when they said you will lose some if you move to France.

There may be some that are relevant to you. As I mentioned, if your spouse is or will be employed in Geneva, she will have in no problem with a Carte de Legitimation. But if you move to France, she will have to get a frontalier permit through her employer. Also, with a carte de legitimation, Switzerland will give you visas for relatives, "servants" yes, believe it or not that you may want to bring from your country of origin, but France will not, only for your immediate family.

Only you know what of the privileges conferred by your status as a UN employee are important to you. I have been living and working in Geneva for the last two years.

In september I will be moving in Ferney Voltaire and continue to work in in Geneva. I will change my swiss work permit for a G one, my employer will do the formalities.

I have swiss health insurance, is it better to keep it or switch to the French sistem, I understood there is this option. PS I am taxed at source in Geneva. As an EU citizen where probably I have to register at the citiy hall, what formalities I need to take with the French authorities? I am aware of changing my swiss driver licence that a switched to from my national EU one to a French one.

Do I need to register elements regarding taxes? What is the process? Does anyone know about living in France or about buying a place? I have no idea whether a US citizen can live in France and work in Switzerland. It's likely that an EU citizen could. Who's paying that? Do you have finance outstanding on the vehicle as the finance company might have issues with their "asset" leaving the shores?

Anyway, the Merc should largely be type-approved and any Merc dealer would be able to help. You can also drive around for a year with US tags on the car if your insurance allows this. Lob brought up a good point there. I also can't see any reason why you would be able to live in France, especially if you didn't have a job there.

Probably not! You may have another issue - what type of work permit will you have? In other words, if you are working in Geneva, you have to live there. There are exceptions of course, but this was the general rule last I checked. EU citizens definitely can, in fact I know someone who did it.

I also know people who currently live in Germany and work in CH. What the rules are regarding US citizens I don't know, I would suggest asking official sources. Since this thread is most definitely a question asking for help I'm moving it to the Help and Tips forum.

Almost certainly not. American friends who have returned to Geneva from the States with C permits are having to wait for Poland to become a full member of the EU before being able to move to France. She's Polish, naturalised American. Ask your company with help in finding an appartment or house, most Regies estate agents have a list for "special" clients. As for the car, get a smaller one! As far as I understand the situation, Poland and a couple of the other countries that joined in doesn't have full residency rights in other EU countries, and won't for another year or so.

My friends are desperate to move out of Switzerland so that they can afford to buy a house of their own, they've contacted the American, Polish and French embassies several times to try and beg their case, but the answer is no, they've got to wait until the treaty is fully ratified.

I did some googling and it appears that you are correct. Apparently the old EU states can place restrictions on the free movement of people from the new states for a period of 7 years after they joined. So I guess this means there will only be true freedom of movement in What better way to make the new states feel welcome than to keep all their people away. You gotta love this whole European gambit sometimes So I guess for your friends it just comes down to when the French government decides which of the new states it likes, and which is doesn't.

To my mind such discriminaton going against the purpose of the EU in the first place. I hope your friends aren't holding their breath. Dear Mark, I knew I was right rapidly suppresses smug look, most un-lady like.

I digress, back to the Bostonian. Might I suggest that you contact the Personnel Office at your new company? Expect to pay at least CHF 3, per month for a 3-bed apartment extra for parking or CHF , upwards if you plan to buy same.


Recent Posts

See All

Which karat gold is better - hfa

VISIT WEBSITE >>>>> http://gg.gg/y83ws?8501978 <<<<<< One may see 14k bracelets, earrings, and necklaces as well. Gold jewelry that is...

How should i get taller - zxz

VISIT WEBSITE >>>>> http://gg.gg/y83ws?1329269 <<<<<< It is the fact that good posture does not help you to grow or increase your height...

Sally bercow who is - jfm

VISIT WEBSITE >>>>> http://gg.gg/y83ws?1570302 <<<<<< In the sweet snapshot posted on October 24, the couple can be seen posing...

Comments


bottom of page