top of page

Can you kindly provide me - wnp

VISIT WEBSITE >>>>> http://gg.gg/y83ws?2199474 <<<<<<






I am a non-native speaker of English. When communicating with a professor, would it be better to use could you kindly send me the document or could you please send me the document? I know both are correct, but which one shows more respect? Both are polite, and no reasonable professor would take objection to either. If you wanted to sound a little more formal, you could say I should be most grateful if you would send me the document.

I would prefer the word please in more formal communications. Kindly would be better-suited for familiar environments. If your professor knows you're not a native English speaker, he should be happy with either of those.

So the following is purely academic:. To my British ears, the following phrases have a very slightly haranguing tone as of a nagging mother :.

Sign up to join this community. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top. Stack Overflow for Teams — Collaborate and share knowledge with a private group. I'd use this for people I now very well and have been working with together for years maybe people in the same team , but never when communicating with a client.

Add a comment. Active Oldest Votes. What I frequently would use, quite informally: Hey, is there any news on my request? We are currently blocked by this issue, do you think the bugfix will be deployed this week?

Or I would like to incorporate your plan in my presentation on Monday. Improve this answer. Helena Helena 6, 2 2 gold badges 14 14 silver badges 42 42 bronze badges. Totally spot on, you are dealing with a person not a machine. Make the email sound like you are communicating with a person who has feelings and has a "relationship" with you Would you ask for a coffee and then ask the barista for a status report on your coffee?

I'd also point that speech patterns and how you interpret them are highly culture-dependant. Example: I consider your wording aggressive even if you were my boss. If you're dealing with clients that do not come from the same culture as you, I'd err on the side of polite.

Hi Jay, Did you get a chance to try out the solution for the above error? Thank you. Kind regards, Kevin. Community Bot 1. Arpit Arpit 87 1 1 bronze badge. Maybe a few variations of this? Improve this answer. MrHen MrHen No, the sentence "Kindly apologize to your mother" is not generally used to instruct the listener how to apologize by analogy with possible locutions such as "Quickly apologize to your mother" but to soften the imperative speech act.

It is equivalent in this context to "please". Yes, they are redundant, as in this context, they mean essentially the same thing. Steve Melnikoff Steve Melnikoff 6, 1 1 gold badge 31 31 silver badges 41 41 bronze badges. Humphrey Bogart Humphrey Bogart 2 2 silver badges 6 6 bronze badges. Out of those options the first one, obviously, but is there really any difference between Please kindly pass me the magazine and Please pass me the magazine which I think is the point of this question — Jonik.

Jonik There is a slight difference in tone, just as there is a slight difference between I am disappointed in you and I am very disappointed in you. Featured on Meta. Now live: A fully responsive profile. Version labels for answers. Linked 0. For example, you wouldn't tell your boss to give you the details, you would ask for the details.

Since this is your boss you would show respect, in which case please would be included in a proper response. If you're above someone in position, e.

As an employer or boss you'd need to order your employees to do their job and get you the details. Sign up to join this community. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top. Stack Overflow for Teams — Collaborate and share knowledge with a private group. Create a free Team What is Teams? Learn more.


Recent Posts

See All

Which karat gold is better - hfa

VISIT WEBSITE >>>>> http://gg.gg/y83ws?8501978 <<<<<< One may see 14k bracelets, earrings, and necklaces as well. Gold jewelry that is...

How should i get taller - zxz

VISIT WEBSITE >>>>> http://gg.gg/y83ws?1329269 <<<<<< It is the fact that good posture does not help you to grow or increase your height...

Sally bercow who is - jfm

VISIT WEBSITE >>>>> http://gg.gg/y83ws?1570302 <<<<<< In the sweet snapshot posted on October 24, the couple can be seen posing...

Comments


bottom of page